Don’t forget. . . . .

28 06 2007

Today was the last day of school and I know some of you met it with smiles and some with tears. Personally, I met it with relief. Not because I did not want to see my students any longer, but because for the first time since August I can take a deep breath and say, “YES!” “THEY MADE IT!”

I read all of your comments that you posted today – WOW – I LOVED every one of them. Some made me laugh out loud, others made me sigh, some made me say, “awwwww.” and a few brought moisture to my eyes. I enjoyed every comment that was made.

Now – you all need to get a blog and attach to my blogroll or send me your blog address so I can comment your page. I WANT to make you laugh out loud, or sigh or say, “Mrs. Ryan HAS to get rid of her Johnny Depp obsession! Good thing he wasn’t in “Titanic” or “Happy Feet” because she would have gone bankrupt going to the movies everyday!” 🙂

Here is a song (you know me and songs and lyrics) that is the theme to a great teen movie from the ’80’s – GASP – and before you ask – YES – it is in COLOR! (The ’80’s were NOT that long ago) Anyway – this is the theme song to the movie, “The Breakfast Club.” and it is a good – great movie – in the fact that it shows how in life there is more to a person than what you see on the outside, especially in high school.

http://media.imeem.com/m/ZDjLJJLCup/aus=false/”></param><param http://media.imeem.com/m/ZDjLJJLCup/aus=false/

When many of you get to high school in about 6 weeks you are going to be entering a world like you have never seen before. It will be scary at times, exciting at others and even boring. You are going to have to define who you are and how you want to be judged, because you will be judged. Not only will your peers judge you, but so will the teachers and once your reputation is set – it is VERY hard to change.

But since you were my students and in my classroom I would hope that I taught you more than how to spell and read and write or make stupid jokes about the word “cantaloupe” (Sorry if you weren’t there that day.) I would hope that you learned to be a little less judgmental and to accept people for who they are, not what they wear or how they look. I hope I showed you some compassion and that you will remember that. Whether it was through a smile, a light tap on the shoulder whispering good job, or my over-exageratted expression of disappointment when you did not complete an assignment, I tried to show you all that I accepted you for who you are and I just wanted the best for you. Don’t forget that. . . . . . . EVER!

That is why I said I met today with a huge sigh of relief. You see, every year on the first day of school I wake up and take a deep breath. A deep breath of excitement, of hope, of potential and of the challenges that will be a part of my life and my student’s lives for the next 9 months. I hold onto that breath – I really do – because there are many times during the year when I just want to let it all go – but I don’t – I hold on. Then on the last day, I let it all out. At this moment my lungs are clear, my mind is at ease because I helped another group of young people take a closer step towards their future.

SO, my dear students, who have all worked themselves into my heart and life in one way or another, whether you are going to high school or just to 8th grade, go strong, take a deep breath and DON’T FORGET!

You know where to find me and you know that I will ALWAYS be here for you!


Actions

Information

One response

28 06 2007
pickleboy

Leave a comment