Why I hate my job

14 05 2009

Why I hate my job.

     Today is one of those days when I really hate my job!  I became a teacher because I enjoy working with kids and watching them grow, learn and develop such quirky yet unique personality traits.  Jr. High is a never ending evolution of growing and learning.  Every day is different and every student is different.  Unfortunately, every once in awhile there will be a student who either makes your life miserable or breaks your heart because they are crying out for help and your hands are tied.  Yes, there are days I REALLY hate my job.

     I have a student who is a pathological, habitual liar.  She is SO quick to respond with a lie that you begin to think that you are wrong.  I have NEVER met anyone in my life that has NO moral compass or conscious.  It is scary and sad.  I have been accused of “framing” her for cheating.  She wrote a letter to the principal saying that she turned in two assignments needed for graduation and that I “lost” them.  The worse part is that a girl who was a really good kid is now adopting the way of her lying friend.  The lying is one thing, but then she gets defiant, rude, disrespectful and almost violent.  The year cannot end soon enough. This student definitely makes my life miserable. 

     Then there are the students who just break your heart.  Students who are struggling with so many issues and they just want to feel safe and secure. Students who just need someone to believe in them, someone to accept them unconditionally, some one who will guide them through the rough and rugged road of adolescence. They want an education, they want to better their lives, but they are still fragile in heart and spirit.  They need help before their heart and spirit are broken forever.  As teachers, our hands are so tied and the bureaucracy of it all leaves a student in pain without help and our hearts keep breaking.   When a student tells you that they hate life and about the dysfunctional things that go on at home and CPS is contacted, but nothing is done it is heart breaking.  The student remains in a world of loneliness and is ostracized by the family for trying to show some integrity and working to better their life.  Sometimes the student will talk to you, other times they will write you letter.  No matter how they communicate with you, your heart is crying for them and you feel so useless because you cannot do anything to help – and that is all they want – help.

 Some days I really hate my job.

    summer vacation therapy                              1 teach superpower


Actions

Information

Leave a comment