What do Teacher’s make?

21 06 2007

d8e00603-used.jpg 

What Do Teachers Make?

The dinner guests were sitting around the table discussing life
.
One man, a CEO, decided to explain the problem with education. He argued: “What’s a kid going to learn from someone who decided his best option in life was to become a teacher?”

He reminded the other dinner guests that it’s true what they say about teachers: “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach.”

To corroborate, he said to another guest: “You’re a teacher, Susan,” he said. “Be honest. What do you make?”

Susan, who had a reputation of honesty and frankness,
replied, you want to know what I make? I make kids work harder than they ever thought they could.

I can make a C+ feel like a Congressional Medal of Honor and an A- feel like a slap in the face, how dare you waste my time with anything less than your very best.

I can make kids sit through 40 minutes of study hall in absolute silence.

I make parents tremble in fear when I call home: I hope I haven’t called at a bad time? I just wanted to talk to you about something Billy said today. Billy said, “Leave the kid alone. I still cry sometimes, don’t you?”

And it was the noblest act of courage I have ever seen.

I make parents see their children for who they are and what they can be.

You want to know what I make?
I make kids wonder.
I make them question.
I make them criticize.
I make them apologize and mean it.
I make them write.
I make them read, read, read.
I make them spell definitely beautiful, definitely beautiful, and definitely beautiful over and over and over again, until they will never misspell either one of those words again.
I make them show all their work in math and hide it all on their final
drafts in English.

I make them understand that if you have the brains, then follow your heart … and if someone ever tries to judge you by what you make, you pay them no attention.

You want to know what I make?

I make a difference.

What about you?

~Adapted from Author, Taylor Mali~

teach-make-other-jobs-possible.jpg